top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Stong

Flourishing


What does it looks like to live your best life?


As I mentioned in the latest podcast on coaching, I want to help others flourish. I want to make sure my kids flourish. And of course, I can only do this if I, myself, are flourishing.


The leading scholar in the area of Positive Psychology, Martin Seligman has done a lot of research around living your best life and the elements necessary to build a life you desire. 


In his book, Flourish, Seligman describes PERMA, an acronym for a model of well-being:

  • Positive moments - feeling good

  • Engagement in life - being completely absorbed in activities

  • Relationships - being authentically connected to others and this is a skill that we can teach

  • Meaning - purposeful existence, belonging to and serving something larger than yourself. 

  • Achievement - a sense of accomplishment and success

He uses the term flourish, instead of happiness, as you can flourish even in the midst of suffering. To me, this is what I want out of my own life - and for my children too!


And finally, here's is Dr. Seligman speaking about flourishing:



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page